Log in

On Wednesday, January 20, 2021, Amanda Gorman, Phi Beta Kappa, Harvard ’20 stepped up to the podium to deliver the reading during the presidential inauguration of Joe Biden.

Phi Beta Kappa is the nation’s oldest academic honor society

The Phi Beta Kappa Northern California Association is one of the
largest and most active PBK alumni associations in the country

We support Phi Beta Kappa scholars pursuing advanced degrees in northern California and connect Phi Beta Kappa members at all stages of life through social and educational events throughout northern California. 

Eight Scholars Honored April, 2023

In fulfillment of its mission to encourage scholarship and research, the Phi Beta Kappa Northern California Association is honoring the following outstanding Phi Beta Kappa graduate students with $10,000 scholarship awards to assist them in completing their educational objectives:

The Scholarship Awards for 2023 were presented to:

Jennifer Guidera, (UC San Francisco) Bioengineering

Katherine Magoulick, (UC Berkeley) Integrative Biology

Thaïs Miller, (UC Santa Cruz) Literature (Gilliland Award)

Remy Nguyen, (UCSC) Biomoleculer Engineering & Bioinformatics (Hendess Award)

Cody Pham, (UC Davis) Ecology (Norall Award)

Reagan Reed, (UC Davis) Plant Biology

Nicholas Stevers, (UC San Francisco) Biomedical Sciences (Reed Award)

Qiyi Zhao, (Stanford) Economics (Hardardt Award)

The Scholarship Committee: Jeff Fenton, Lynne Fovinci, Rona Giffard, Judith Hardardt, Jean James, Joanne Sandstrom (Chair)

The Teaching Excellence Award, given to teachers nominated by their students, consists of a Certificate and a $1000 honorarium

The Teaching Excellence Awards for 2023 were presented to:

Hans Bork (Stanford) – Classics (Latin)/ Digital Humanities

Seeta Chaganti (UC Davis) – English (Old and Middle English Literature)

Tom McEnaney (UC Berkeley) – Comparative Literature/Spanish and Portuguese

Lianne Kurina (Stanford) – Medical: Primary Care and Population Health/Human Biology (Hasenkamp Award)

Esther Yu (Stanford) – English (Early Modern Literature)

Teaching Excellence Committee: Andrea Braga, Melisa Lasell, Leilani Miller, Melissa Stevens (Chair)

Quick links

Follow our activities

© Phi Beta Kappa Northern California Association

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software