Log in

On Wednesday, January 20, 2021, Amanda Gorman, Phi Beta Kappa, Harvard ’20 stepped up to the podium to deliver the reading during the presidential inauguration of Joe Biden.

 Eight Scholars And Four Teachers Honored, May 2020

Phi Beta Kappa Northern California Association is honoring the following outstanding Phi Beta Kappa graduate students with $7,500 scholarship awards

Sarah Gaffney--UC Davis; ecology
Nathan Gamarra--UC San Francisco; biochemistry and biophysics--Hendess award
Dominick Lawton--UC Berkeley; Slavic languages and literature--Gilliland award
Matthew Libassi--UC Berkeley; environmental science, policy, and management
Jacob Moe-Lange--Stanford; biology
Anna Nisi--UC Santa Cruz; environmental studies--Reed award
Mark-Phillip Pebworth--UC San Francisco; biomedical sciences--Hardardt award
Sabrina Shirazi--UC Santa Cruz; ecology and evolutionary biology--Norall award

Scholarship Committee members: Jean James, Jeff Fenton, Lynne Fovinci, Judy Hardardt, Joanne Sandstrom (Chair).

From 1982 through 2020, the Association awarded 345 scholarships totaling $1,467,214 to outstanding Phi Beta Kappa graduates.

The Teaching Excellence Committee has selected the following persons to receive Teaching Excellence Awards:

  R. Lanier Anderson - Stanford University, Philosophy
Barbara Barnes - UC Berkeley, Gender and Women's Studies
Steven Hinshaw - UC Berkeley, Department of Psychology Scott Sagan - Stanford University, Political Science
Sabrina Shirazi--UC Santa Cruz; ecology and evolutionary biology--Norall award

2020 Teaching awardees composite

Teaching Excellence Committee members: Kimberly Aguilar, Neil McElroy, Frank Farris, Melissa Stevens, and Narcinda Lerner (Chair)

Quick links

Follow our activities

© Phi Beta Kappa Northern California Association

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software