Log in

On Wednesday, January 20, 2021, Amanda Gorman, Phi Beta Kappa, Harvard ’20 stepped up to the podium to deliver the reading during the presidential inauguration of Joe Biden.

Phi Beta Kappa is the nation’s oldest academic honor society

The Phi Beta Kappa Northern California Association is one of the
largest and most active PBK alumni associations in the country

We support Phi Beta Kappa scholars pursuing advanced degrees in northern California and connect Phi Beta Kappa members at all stages of life through social and educational events throughout northern California. 

Twelve Scholars and Four Teachers Honored April, 2021

In fulfillment of its mission to encourage scholarship and research, the Phi Beta Kappa Northern California Association is honoring the following outstanding Phi Beta Kappa graduate students with $7,500 scholarship awards to assist them in completing their educational objectives:

The Scholarship Awards for 2021 were presented to:

Jerika Barron, UC San Francisco, Biomedical Sciences (Norall award)

Gil Breger, UC Berkeley, Near Eastern Studies

Tal (Tali) Caspi, UC Davis, Ecology

Lewis Esposito, Stanford, Linguistics (Gilliland award)

Iris Holzer, UC Davis, Soils and Biochemistry

Jonathan Lear, UC Berkeley, History

Claire Magnani, UC Berkeley, Chemistry (Hendess award)

Julia Melin, Stanford, Sociology

Joseph Passman, UC Berkeley, History (Hardardt award)

Ashley Perez, UCSF, Sociology

Kathryn Pribble, UC Berkeley, Slavic Languages and Literature

Nina Venuti, UC Davis, Ecology (Reed award)

The Scholarship Committee: Jeff Fenton, Lynne Fovinci, Judith Hardardt, Jean James, Joanne Sandstrom (Chair)

The Teaching Excellence Award, given to teachers nominated by their students, consists of a Certificate and a $1000 honorarium

The Teaching Excellence Awards for 2021 were presented to:

David Cohen, Classics, Human Rights and International Justice, Stanford University

Paul Graham Fisher, Human Biology, Stanford University

Courtney Lehmann, English, University of the Pacific (Hasenkamp Award)

William Swagerty, History, University of the Pacific

Teaching Excellence Committee: Andrea Braga, Melisa Lasell, Melissa Stevens (Chair)

Quick links

Follow our activities

© Phi Beta Kappa Northern California Association

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software